Copyright yardbarker

Refs Try To Explain Their Blunder On The Bucs Following the game, there was a pool report conducted by Luke Johnson of the New Orleans Times-Picayune/Advocate with game official Ronald Torbert to get more clarity about the mishap. Here is the full exchange. Question: Can you describe what happened after the Rashid Shaheed fumble that was initially ruled a touchdown on the field but then was called back because of the whistle? Torbert: “We ruled that there was a fumble. It was recovered by the defense, but there was a whistle blown from the other side of the field. The official thought that the runner was down. We were able to award the defense the ball after the fumble but because the whistle had been blown, we could not award the advance afterwards.” Question: And you said the whistle came from the far side of the field? Torbert: “Yes.” Question: And that was determined after a discussion amongst the crew rather than a replay review? Torbert: “That’s correct. That was just the crew on the field that had that discussion.” Question: And I guess just for clarity’s sake, once a whistle has been blown, the play is ruled dead automatically, correct? Torbert: “Yes, there are certain situations, such as if there’s a fumble and an immediate recovery in the aftermath after the whistle is blown, in certain cases we can award the ball to the defense. Or award an interception. So generally, yes, the ball is dead when the whistle’s blown. But in this case we were able to award the fumble but not the advance.